Latest News

UDC Names Roster for 2014

NARROWSBURG – The membership of the Upper Delaware Council (UDC) board has been determined for 2014 following municipal reorganizational meetings.

The UDC is a not-for-profit, bi-state organization which has operated since 1988 under a Cooperative Agreement partnership with the National Park Service to oversee the coordinated implementation of the River Management Plan for the Upper Delaware Scenic and Recreational River, a component since 1978 of the National Wild and Scenic Rivers System.

Council members are the eight New York towns and five Pennsylvania townships that border on the Upper Delaware River, as well as the State of New York and the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. Buckingham and Manchester Townships remain eligible to join as voting members. The Delaware River Basin Commission is a non-voting member.

The National Park Service is a non-voting partner.

UDC officers for 2014 are: Chairperson Andrew Boyar, Town of Highland, NY; Vice
-chairperson Patricia Jeffer, Shohola Township, PA; and Secretary-Treasurer Alan Henry, Berlin Township, PA.

The 2014 roster of appointed representatives and alternates as of February 6, listed from north to south in the river corridor, is:

Town of Hancock–Fred Peckham, representative; Samuel N. Rowe, Jr, alternate

Town of Fremont–James Greier, representative; George Conklin, alternate

Town of Delaware–Harold G. Roeder, Jr., representative; David Peters, alternate

Town of Cochecton–Larry H. Richardson, representative; Sean Nearing, alternate

Town of Tusten–Susan Sullivan, representative; Tony Ritter, alternate

Town of Highland–Andrew Boyar, representative; Debra Conway, alternate

Town of Lumberland–Nadia Rajsz, representative; Jenny Mellan, alternate

Town of Deerpark–David M. Dean, representative; Virginia Dudko, alternate

Damascus Township –Jeffrey Dexter, representative; Steven Adams, alternate

Berlin Township –Alan Henry, representative; Paul Henry, alternate

Lackawaxen Township–John S. McKay, representative; Brian Stuart, alternate

Shohola Township–Patricia Jeffer, representative; George J. Fluhr, 1st alternate; Aaron Robinson, 2nd alternate

Westfall Township–representative and alternate positions currently vacant State of New York–NYS Department of Environmental Conservation (DEC) Region 3 Natural Resources

Supervisor William J. Rudge, representative; NYS DEC Region 3 Inland Fisheries Manager Michael J. Flaherty, alternate Commonwealth of Pennsylvania– representative and alternate positions vacant Delaware River Basin Commission (non-voting member)–DRBC Executive Director Carol R. Collier, representative (through her March 12, 2014 retirement effective date); alternate position rotatesNational Park Service (non-voting partner)–NPS Northeast Deputy Regional Director Michael Caldwell, acting representative; NPS Upper Delaware Scenic and Recreational River Acting Superintendent Malcolm Wilbur, alternate.

The UDC’s three full-time staff members are: Executive Director Laurie Ramie; Resource Specialist Travis O’Dell; and Secretary Cindy Odell. The full body of the Upper Delaware Council meets every first Thursday of the month at 7 p.m. Three standing committees meet as follows: Water Use/Resource Management Committee, third Tuesdays at 7 p.m.; Project Review Committee, fourth Tuesdays at 6:30 p.m.; and Operations Committee, fourth Tuesdays at approximately 7:30 p.m.

All of these meetings take place at the UDC’s office located at 211 Bridge St. in Narrowsburg, NY, and are open to the public.

For more information, please visit or call (845) 252-3022.


Search Posts