Empty heading

Empty heading

Empty heading


Gathered at the Upper Delaware Council’s June 3, 2021 meeting were, seated: 2021 Chairperson Jeffrey Dexter (Damascus), Secretary-Treasurer Alan Henry (Berlin), and Vice-chairperson Susan Sullivan (Tusten).

Standing from left to right were: Joseph Salvatore (National Park Service), Tom Dent (Delaware), Aaron Robinson (Shohola), Doug Case (Lackawaxen), Ginny Dudko (Deepark Alt.), Fred Peckham (Hancock), Larry Richardson (Cochecton), Jim Greier (Fremont), and David Dean (Deerpark).

Absent are James Gutekunst (Highland), Nadia Rajsz (Lumberland), Michael Barth (Westfall), Bill Rudge (State of New York), Tim Dugan (Commonwealth of Pennsylvania) and Kristen Bowman Kavanaugh (Delaware River Basin Commission).

New York
Municipality Representative Alternate
Town of Hancock Fred J. Peckham Timothy Newman
Town of Fremont James A. Greier Pamela Reinhardt
Town of Delaware Thomas H. Dent Harold G. Roeder, Jr.
Town of Cochecton Larry H. Richardson Sean Nearing
Town of Tusten Susan Sullivan Evan Padua
Town of Highland James Gutekunst  Andy Boyar
Town of Lumberland Nadia Rajsz Vacant
Town of Deerpark David M. Dean Virginia S. Dudko
Municipality Representative Alternate
Berlin Township Alan Henry Paul Henry
Damascus Township Jeffrey Dexter Steve Adams, Supervisor
Joseph Canfield, 2nd Alt.
Daniel Rutledge, 3rd Alt.
Lackawaxen Township Doug Case
Judy Kuhn Conklin
Shohola Township Aaron Robinson Roger Saumure, 1st Alt.
Pat Jeffer, 2nd Alt.
 Westfall Township Michael Barth Vacant
State of New York
New York State Department of Environmental Conservation
  Representative Alternate
William J. Rudge
Region 3 Natural Resource Supervisor
Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
Pennsylvania Department of Conservation and Natural Resources
  Representative Alternate
Timothy Dugan
District Forester, DCNR
Christine Dettore
Regional Advisor, DCNR
Delaware River Basin Commission*
  Representative Alternate
Steven Tambini, Executive Director
Kristen Bowman Kavanaugh, Deputy Executive Director
National Park Service**
  Representative Alternate
Gay Vietzke, Regional Director
NPS - Northeast Region
Joseph A. Salvatore, Superintendent
Upper Delaware Scenic & Recreational River Unit


  *Non-voting member
**Federal partner


Sunny day looking down river
Photo Credit: David B. Soete
Did You Know?

The Upper Delaware Scenic and Recreational River, added by the U.S. Congress in 1978 as the 19th component of the National Wild and Scenic Rivers System, is exactly 73.4 miles long, extending from the confluence of the East and West Branches of the Delaware River above Hancock, NY downstream to Railroad Bridge No. 2 in Mill Rift, PA. The corridor is comprised of 55,575.5 acres of land.