Latest News

UDC Names Roster for 2012

NARROWSBURG –The membership of the Upper Delaware Council (UDC) board has been determined for 2012 following municipal reorganizational meetings.
The UDC is a not-for-profit corporation which has operated since 1988 under a
Cooperative Agreement partnership with the National Park Service to oversee the coordinated implementation of the River Management Plan for the Upper Delaware Scenic and Recreational River, a component since 1978 of the National Wild and Scenic Rivers System.

Council members are the eight New York towns and five Pennsylvania townships that border on the Upper Delaware River, as well as the State of New York and the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. Buckingham and Manchester Townships remain eligible to join as voting members. The Delaware River Basin Commission is a non-voting member. The National Park Service is a non-voting partner.

The 2012 roster of appointed representatives and alternates, listed from north to south in the river corridor, is:

  • Town of Hancock – Fred Peckham, representative; Samuel N. Rowe, Jr, alternate
  • Town of Fremont – 2012 UDC Secretary-Treasurer John B. Niflot, representative; Jim Rodgers, first alternate; George Conklin, second alternate
  • Town of Delaware – Harold G. Roeder, Jr., representative; David Peters, alternate
  • Town of Cochecton – Larry H. Richardson, representative; Edwin Grund, alternate
  • Town of Tusten – Susan Sullivan, representative; Tony Ritter, alternate
  • Town of Highland – Andrew Boyar, representative; Debra Conway, alternate
  • Town of Lumberland – 2012 UDC Chairperson Nadia Rajsz, representative; Jay Shafer, alternate
  • Town of Deerpark – David M. Dean, representative; Virginia Dudko, alternate
  • Damascus Township – 2012 Vice-Chairperson Jeffrey Dexter, representative; Joseph Canfield, alternate
  • Berlin Township – Alan Henry, representative; Paul Henry, alternate
  • Lackawaxen Township – John S. McKay, representative; Brian Stuart, alternate
  • Shohola Township – Patricia Jeffer, representative; George J.Fluhr, first alternate; Aaron Robinson, second alternate
  • Westfall Township – Alex Cena, representative; alternate position vacant
  • State of New York – NYS Department of Environmental Conservation (DEC) Region 3 Natural Resources Supervisor William J. Rudge, representative; NYS DEC Region 3 Inland Fisheries Manager Michael J. Flaherty, alternate
  • Commonwealth of Pennsylvania – PA Department of Conservation and Natural Resources Bureau of Recreation/Conservation, Natural Resource Program Supervisor Dennis DeMara, representative; alternate position vacant Delaware River Basin Commission (non-voting member)– DRBC Executive Director Carol R. Collier, representative; alternate position rotates
  • National Park Service (non-voting partner) – NPS Northeast Regional Director Dennis Reidenbach, representative; NPS Upper Delaware Scenic and Recreational River Superintendent Sean J. McGuinness, alternate.

UDC full-time staff members are: Acting Executive Director and Public Relations/Fundraising Specialist Laurie Ramie; Senior Resource Specialist David B. Soete; and Secretary Cindy Odell.

The full body of the Upper Delaware Council meets every first Thursday at 7 p.m. in the UDC office at 211 Bridge St. in Narrowsburg. Three standing committ
ees meet as follows, also at the office: Water Use/Resource Management Committee, third Tuesdays at 7 p.m.; Operations Committee, fourth Tuesdays at
6:30 p.m.; and Project Review Committee, fourth Tuesdays at approximately 7 p.m. All Council meetings are open to the public. For more information on the UDC and its activities, visit, call (845) 252-3022, or stop by the office at 211 Bridge St. in Narrowsburg, NY.


Search Posts