Latest News

UDC Names Roster for 2010

NARROWSBURG –The membership of the Upper Delaware Council (UDC) board has been determined for 2010 following municipal reorganizational meetings and recent appointments to fill vacancies.

The UDC is a not-for-profit corporation which has operated since 1988 under a Cooperative Agreement partnership with the National Park Service to oversee the coordinated implementation of the River Management Plan for the Upper Delaware Scenic and Recreational River, a component since 1978 of the National Wild and Scenic Rivers System.

Council members are the eight New York towns and five Pennsylvania townships that border on the Upper Delaware River, as well as the State of New York and the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. Buckingham and Manchester Townships remain eligible to join as voting members. The Delaware River Basin Commission is a non-voting member. The National Park Service is a partner.

The 2010 roster of appointed representatives and alternates, listed from north to south in the river corridor, is:

Town of Hancock – Fred Peckham, representative; Jim Serio, alternate

Town of Fremont – 2010 UDC Secretary-Treasurer John B. Niflot, representative; Jim Rodgers, first alternate; George Conklin, second alternate

Town of Delaware – 2010 UDC Chairperson Harold G. Roeder, Jr., representative; alternate position vacant

Town of Cochecton – Larry H. Richardson, representative; Edwin Grund, alternate

Town of Tusten – Susan Sullivan, representative; Tony Ritter, first alternate; Margaret Harrison, second alternate

Town of Highland – Andrew Boyar, representative; John Sundholm, alternate

Town of Lumberland – Nadia Rajsz, representative; Jay Shafer, alternate

Town of Deerpark – Philip Chase, representative; Melvin Decker, alternate

Damascus Township – 2010 Vice-Chairperson Dolores A. Keesler, representative; Jeffrey Dexter, first alternate; Joseph Canfield, second alternate

Berlin Township – Lillian Russell, representative; alternate position vacant

Lackawaxen Township – John S. McKay, representative; Brian Stuart, alternate

Shohola Township – Scott Rando, representative; Nelia Wall, first alternate; George J. Fluhr, second alternate

Westfall Township – Peter P. Kenny, representative; alternate position vacant

State of New York – NYS Department of Environmental Conservation (DEC) Region 3 Natural Resources Supervisor William J. Rudge, representative; NYS DEC Region 3 Inland Fisheries Manager Michael J. Flaherty, alternate

Commonwealth of Pennsylvania – PA Department of Conservation and Natural Resources Northeast Regional Office Recreation and Park Supervisor Dennis DeMara, representative; alternate position vacant

Delaware River Basin Commission (non-voting member) – DRBC Executive Director Carol R. Collier, representative

National Park Service (non-voting partner) – NPS Northeast Regional Director Dennis Reidenbach, representative; NPS Upper Delaware Scenic and Recreational River Superintendent Sean McGuinness, alternate.

UDC full-time staff members are: Executive Director William E. Douglass; Senior Resource Specialist David B. Soete; Public Relations/Fundraising Specialist Laurie Ramie; and Office Manager Carol Coney.

The full body of the Upper Delaware Council meets every first Thursday at 7:30 p.m. in the UDC office at 211 Bridge St. in Narrowsburg. Three standing committee meetings take place as follows, also at the office: Water Use/Resource Management Committee, third Tuesdays at 7 p.m.; Operations Committee, fourth Tuesdays at 6:30 p.m.; and Project Review Committee, fourth Tuesdays at 7 p.m.

All Council meetings are open to the public. For more information on the UDC and its activities, visit, call (845) 252-3022, or stop by the office at 211 Bridge St. in Narrowsburg, NY.


Search Posts