Latest News

UDC 2012 Annual Awards Ceremony Honorees

Distinguished Service Award ~ U.S. Congressman Maurice D. Hinchey, Jr.
(Effective representation of New York State’s 22nd Congressional District, 1992-2012)

Robin M. Daniels Memorial Lifesaving Award ~ Peter Van Slyke, Deposit, NY
(August 13, 2011 Skinners Falls rescue of four capsized canoeists, including a disabled individual)

Partnership Award ~ Common Waters Fund, The Pinchot Institute for Conservation
(Upper Delaware landowner grants for forest stewardship practices to promote clean water)

Outstanding Community Achievement Award ~ Town of Tusten, NY
(Adopting a zoning code that reaffirms home rule by prohibiting heavy industrial use in the river corridor)

Community Service Award ~ Philip D. Chase, Port Jervis, NY
(Long-term advocacy on behalf of the Upper Delaware River, fisheries, and wildlife)

Recreation Achievement Award ~ Kittatinny Canoes
(Expanding its Adventure Center ecotourism attractions with a dual zip line in 2011)

Cultural Achievement Award ~ Tusten Historical Society
(Conception and implementation of “Take a Walk Into Narrowsburg History” program)

Special Recognition Award ~ William E. Douglass, Oregon Township, PA
(Contributions to the Upper Delaware Council as executive director from 3/13/89-12/31/11)

Special Recognition Award ~ Anne Willard, Callicoon, NY
(Research and writing thought-provoking editorials on topical issues for The River Reporter)

Oaken Gavel Award – Larry H. Richardson, Town of Cochecton, NY
(Leadership as Upper Delaware Council chairperson from 5/5/11-12/31/11)


Search Posts