Latest News

UDC Names 2017 Roster

UDC ROSTER: Gathered at the Upper Delaware Council’s February 2, 2017 meeting were the newly-inducted officers, seated from left, Secretary-Treasurer Alan F. Henry, Berlin Township; Vice-Chairperson David M. Dean, Town of Deerpark; and Chairperson James A. Greier, Town of Fremont. Standing from left to right were: Steve Tambini, Delaware River Basin Commission; Michael Barth, Westfall Township; Jeff Dexter, Damascus Township; Susan Sullivan, Town of Tusten; Fred Peckham, Town of Hancock; Virginia Dudko, Town of Deerpark; Zoriana Gingold, Town of Lumberland; Larry Richardson, Town of Cochecton; Aaron Robinson, Shohola Township; Doug Case, Lackawaxen Township; Jeff Haas, Town of Highland; Harold Roeder, Town of Delaware; Bill Rudge, New York State; and Carla Hahn, National Park Service Upper Delaware Scenic and Recreational River. The Commonwealth of Pennsylvania representative was absent.

NARROWSBURG – Town of Fremont Supervisor George Conklin officiated at the swearing-in ceremony for the Upper Delaware Council’s (UDC) 2017 officers held during the Feb. 2 monthly meeting of the bi-state, non-profit organization.

Supervisor Conklin administered the oaths of office to 2017 UDC Chairperson James A. Greier (Town of Fremont, NY), Vice-Chairperson David M. Dean (Town of Deerpark, NY), and Secretary-Treasurer Alan F. Henry (Berlin Township, PA).

Council members are the eight New York towns and five of the Pennsylvania townships that border on the Upper Delaware River, as well as the State of New York and the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. Buckingham and Manchester Townships remain eligible to join. The Delaware River Basin Commission has opted for non-voting membership. The National Park Service is a non-voting partner.

Members appoint representatives and alternates to serve on the UDC board. Following municipal reorganizational meetings, the 2017 roster is:

Town of Hancock – Fred Peckham, representative; Katt Judd, alternate;

Town of Fremont – James A. Greier, representative; George Conklin, alternate;

Town of Delaware – Harold G. Roeder, Jr., representative; David Peters, alternate;

Town of Cochecton – Larry H. Richardson, representative; Sean Nearing, alternate;

Town of Tusten – Susan Sullivan, representative; Tony Ritter, alternate;

Town of Highland – Jeff Haas, representative; Andrew Boyar and Debra Conway, co-alternates;

Town of Lumberland – Leigh Sherman, representative; Zoriana Gingold, alternate;

Town of Deerpark – David M. Dean, representative; Virginia Dudko, alternate;

Damascus Township – Jeffrey R. Dexter, representative; Joseph Canfield, Steven Adams, and Daniel Rutledge, co-alternates;

Berlin Township – Alan F. Henry, representative; Paul Henry, alternate;

Lackawaxen Township – Doug Case, representative; Judy Kuhn Conklin, alternate;

Shohola Township – Aaron Robinson, representative; Patricia Jeffer, 1st alternate; and George J. Fluhr, 2nd alternate;

Westfall Township – Michael Barth, representative; alternate-vacant;

State of New York – NYS Department of Environmental Conservation (DEC) Region 3 Natural Resources Supervisor William J. Rudge, representative; NYS DEC Region 3 Inland Fisheries Manager Michael J. Flaherty, alternate;

Commonwealth of Pennsylvania – PA Department of Conservation and Natural Resources Delaware State Forest District Forester Timothy Dugan, representative; PA Department of Environmental Protection Interstate Water Office River Basin Program Coordinator Rhonda Manning, alternate;

Delaware River Basin Commission (DRBC) – DRBC Executive Director Steven J. Tambini, representative; no designated alternate; and

National Park Service (NPS) – NPS Northeast Regional Director Michael Caldwell, representative; NPS Upper Delaware Scenic and Recreational River Superintendent Kristina Heister, alternate.

The UDC’s three full-time staff members are: Executive Director Laurie Ramie; Resource Specialist Pete Golod; and Secretary Cindy Odell.

The UDC has operated since 1988 under a Cooperative Agreement partnership with the National Park Service to oversee the coordinated implementation of the River Management Plan for the Upper Delaware Scenic and Recreational River, which the U.S. Congress designated in 1978 as part of the National Wild and Scenic Rivers System.

The river corridor extends 73.4 miles from the confluence of the East and West Branches of the Delaware River below Hancock to Railroad Bridge No. 2 at Sparrowbush. It encompasses 55,574.5 acres that remain in majority private ownership within portions of Delaware, Sullivan, and Orange Counties in NY; and Wayne and Pike Counties in PA.

The full body of the Upper Delaware Council regularly meets every first Thursday of the month at 7 p.m.

Three standing committees meet as follows: Water Use/Resource Management Committee, third Tuesdays at 7 p.m.; Project Review Committee, fourth Tuesdays at 6:30 p.m.; and Operations Committee, fourth Tuesdays at approximately 7:30 p.m.

All meetings take place at the UDC’s office located at 211 Bridge St. in Narrowsburg, NY, and are open to the public.

For more information, please visit or call (845) 252-3022.


Search Posts