Latest News

UDC Elects Officers for 2008

NARROWSBURG – Westfall Township, PA Representative Alan Bowers will preside over the Upper Delaware Council (UDC) for its 20th anniversary year as he was sworn in as 2008 chairperson at the Annual Meeting held Thursday, January 3, in Narrowsburg.

Tusten Town Justice Alfred Smith III administered the oath of office to Bowers, who succeeds 2007 UDC Chairperson F. Gerald Mackin of the Town of Hancock, NY. Fellow elected officers are Vice-Chairperson Charles Wieland of the Town of Tusten, NY, and Secretary-Treasurer John B. Niflot of the Town of Fremont, NY. A reception with cake and coffee followed the monthly business meeting.

Bowers was first appointed to the UDC board as an alternate representative in 1992. He is a member/past chair of all three of the Council’s standing committees: Water Use/Resource Management; Operations; and Project Review.

This is his second term as chairperson, having last fulfilled the annual leadership role in 1998. He served as vice-chair for five non-consecutive years in 2006, 2004, 2001, 1996, and 1994.

A graduate of Delaware Valley High School and Penn State University, Bowers has been employed for 37 years as a Senior Research Technician at New York University Medical Center’s Nelson Institute of Environmental Medicine in Sterling Forest. He is certified by the American Association of Laboratory Animal Science.

Bowers is the father of one son, Alan, Jr., who lives in Audubon, NJ. His sportsman-related memberships include the Wayne-Pike Chapter of Trout Unlimited, Fontinalis Fly Fishermen, the National Wild Turkey Federation, and the Montana Wildlife Federation.

2008 Vice-Chairperson Charles Wieland has been the Town of Tusten’s appointed UDC representative since 1991. He served as UDC chairperson twice, in 2006 and 1997, after filling the office of vice-chair in 2005, and of secretary-treasurer in 2004, 2003, 2002, 1996, and 1994.

Wieland retired in 2001 as Assistant Superintendent of the Narrowsburg Water and Sewer District, and now works part-time locally.

Town of Fremont Representative “Jack” Niflot was elected 2008 secretary-treasurer for the seventh, non-consecutive year. He previously filled the position in 2007, 2006, 2005, 1999, 1998, and 1997. He was first appointed to the UDC as an alternate in 1994 and took over as representative in 1997.

Niflot has served on the Fremont Town Board as a councilman since 1994. He is a founder and the president of the Basket Historical Society of the Upper Delaware Valley, and a lifelong area resident.

The Upper Delaware Council is a not-for-profit corporation which has operated since 1988 under a Cooperative Agreement partnership with the National Park Service to oversee the coordinated implementation of the River Management Plan for the Upper Delaware Scenic and Recreational River, a component since 1978 of the National Wild and Scenic Rivers System.

Council members are the eight NY towns and three PA townships that border on the Upper Delaware River, as well as the State of New York and the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. The four townships in Wayne County, PA – Berlin, Buckingham, Damascus, and Manchester – remain eligible to join. The Delaware River Basin Commission is a non-voting member. The National Park Service Upper Delaware Scenic and Recreational River is a partner.

Monthly meetings take place at the UDC office located at 211 Bridge St. in Narrowsburg on the following regular schedule:Upper Delaware Council, 1st Thursdays at 7:30 p.m.; Water Use/Resource Management Committee, 3rd Tuesdays at 7 p.m.; Operations Committee and Project Review Committee, 4th Tuesdays at 6:30 p.m. and approximately 7 p.m., respectively. All meetings are open to the public.



Search Posts