Latest News

UDC Announces Honorees for Awards Ceremony on April 27

NARROWSBURG – The Upper Delaware Council, Inc. (UDC) will honor individuals, organizations, and projects that have enhanced the quality of life or protected the resources of the Upper Delaware River Valley at its 20th Annual Awards Ceremony on April 27 in Hancock.

Reservations at $25 per person are due by April 18 for the banquet that will take place at LaSalette Restaurant on Golf Course Road in Hancock. A reception begins at 3 p.m. and a buffet dinner will be served at 4 p.m. New York State Assemblyman Clifford W. Crouch (107th District) will deliver the keynote address.

The UDC will bestow awards in the following categories:

Distinguished Service Award – Sandra S. Schultz of Forestburgh, NY, assistant superintendent of the National Park Service Upper Delaware Scenic and Recreational River;

Robin M. Daniels Memorial Lifesaving Awards (2) – Tom Ziser of Narrowsburg, NY (May 28, 2007 rescue of two swimmers in peril at LaCultural Achievement Awardnder’s River Trips Narrowsburg Base); and the Shohola-Barryville Bridge Construction Crew, from Fahs Construction Group of Binghamton, NY: Jim Linaberry, South Montrose, PA; Kim Donohue, White Lake, NY; James Morrison, Montrose, PA; and Charles Siracuse, Montrose, PA, and from Marathon Iron Works of Big Flats, NY: Jerry Rambus, Deposit, NY; Tom Shirkey, Deposit, NY; Bill Knapp, Newburgh, NY; and Anthony Struss, Wappingers Falls, NY (July 10, 2007 rescue of a 14-year-old girl whose canoe capsized at Shohola Rapids);

Partnership Award – Town of Highland Eagle Observation Shelter (innovative project by Highland Renaissance, The Eagle Institute and the Town of Highland located at Minisink Ford, NY);

Community Service Award – Pat Camuso of Greeley, PA (protection of river valley resources through investigative reporting about a potential hazardous materials site);

Recreation Achievement Award – Tom Freda of Callicoon, NY (resurrection of the Callicoon Canoe Regatta event as the largest canoe race on the Upper Delaware River);

Cultural Achievement Award – Fort Delaware Museum of Colonial History in Narrowsburg, NY (50th anniversary in 2007 of this living history site owned and operated by the Sullivan County Division of Public Works);

Volunteer Award – Twin & Walker Creeks Watershed Conservancy (commitment to water quality stewardship and education in Shohola Township, Pike County, PA)

Special Recognition Awards (2) – Trout Unlimited of Arlington, VA (coordination of efforts to develop an Upper Delaware regional flood emergency response system); and Dry Stone Conservancy of Lexington, KY (masonry restoration craftwork at Roebling’s Delaware Aqueduct and the National Park Service Corwin Barn properties);

Oaken Gavel Award – F. Gerald Mackin of Las Vegas, NV (service as 2007 Upper Delaware Council chairperson and former Town of Hancock, NY UDC representative).

To request a reservation form or more information on the 20th Annual Awards Ceremony, please contact Public Relations Specialist Laurie Ramie at the UDC, P.O. Box 192, 211 Bridge St., Narrowsburg, NY 12764; phone (845) 252-3022.


Search Posts