Latest News

UDC Announces Honorees for Awards Ceremony on April 17

NARROWSBURG – The Upper Delaware Council, Inc.(UDC) will honor individuals, organizations, and projects that have enhanced the quality of life or protected the resources of the Upper Delaware River Valley at its 23rd Annual Awards Ceremony on Sunday, April 17, in Beach Lake, PA.

Reservations at $24 per person are due by April 8 for the banquet that will take place at Central House Family Resort located at 81 Milanville Road in Beach Lake. A cash bar reception begins at 3 p.m., followed by a 4 p.m. buffet dinner featuring prime rib, baked salmon, and ham. Pennsylvania Representative Sandra J. Major (111th District), will deliver the keynote address prior to the presentation of awards.

The UDC will bestow awards in the following categories:

Distinguished Service Award – Peter E. Nye, who retired in September 2010 as leader of the New York State Department of Environmental Conservation’s Endangered Species Unit, for his successful bald eagle restoration efforts since 1976;

Robin M. Daniels Memorial Lifesaving Award – Lumberland Volunteer Fire Department (NY), Port Jervis Fire Dept. (NY), Port Jervis Volunteer Ambulance Corp. (NY), Sparrowbush Engine Co. (NY), Huguenot Fire Co. (NY), Westfall Township Volunteer Fire Dept. (PA), Mill Rift Fire Dept. (PA), Matamoras Fire Dept. (PA), and Regional EMS (NY & PA), for their July 31, 2010 night-time rescue of two rafters involving personal injury from an attempted cliff climb at the Hawk’s Nest in the Town of Deerpark, NY;

Partnership Award – Pennsylvania Fish and Boat Commission and New York State Department of Environmental Conservation’s Division of Fish, Wildlife and Marine Resources, for collaboration on the “Recommended Improvements to the Flexible Flow Management Program for Coldwater Ecosystem Protection in the Delaware River Tailwaters” White Paper report released on Feb. 17, 2010;

Volunteer Award – John and Yoke Bauer DiGiorgio of Narrowsburg, NY and Rockaway, NJ, for founding the 10th Annual Narrowsburg EagleFest, and their efforts through programs, publications, and photography to raise public awareness of wildlife conservation and the natural environment;

Recreation Achievement Award – Paul Weamer of Coburn, PA, for his book, “Fly Fishing Guide to the Upper Delaware River” that offers messages on water safety, river etiquette, and conservation, while attracting anglers to the waterways of the Upper Delaware region;

Cultural Achievement Award – Town of Lumberland Cultural Seriesof Glen Spey, NY, for celebrating its 25th anniversary in 2010 of offering diverse cultural programming for the public;

Community Service Award – Friends of the Upper Delaware River, Inc., for advocacy to protect the Upper Delaware River fishery and to support stream
restoration work in the Town of Hancock, NY;

Special Recognition Awards (2) – Dorothy Moon, of the National Park Service Upper Delaware Scenic and Recreational River, for overseeing all aspects of the Zane Grey Museum’s renovation from funding to exhibit development for its May 2010 re-opening in Lackawaxen, PA; and Kathleen Michell of Narrowsburg, NY, for her numerous contributions since 1985 to the Narrowsburg and greater river valley communities;

Oaken Gavel Award – Harold G. Roeder, Jr. of the Town of Delaware, NY, for his leadership as Upper Delaware Council chairperson in 2010. All are welcome to attend the UDC’s Awards Ceremony. A downloadable reservation form is available at

For more information, please contact Public Relations Specialist Laurie Ramie at P.O. Box 192, 211 Bridge St., Narrowsburg, NY 12764; phone (845) 252-3022; fax (845) 252-3359; or e-mail


Search Posts