Latest News

George showing is photograph present

UDC Announces Honorees for 30th Annual Awards Ceremony on April 22

Caption: At the 2013 Upper Delaware Council Awards Banquet, George J. Fluhr was given a gift by UDC Executive Director Laurie Ramie after he presented a 25th anniversary historic overview of the UDC.

NARROWSBURG – The Upper Delaware Council, Inc. (UDC) will honor those who have enhanced the quality of life or protected the resources of the Upper Delaware River Valley at its 30th Annual Awards Ceremony on Sunday, April 22.

Reservations at $28 per person are due by April 13 for the banquet that will take place at Central House Family Resort, 81 Milanville Road, Beach Lake, PA.

A reception with appetizers and a cash bar begins at 3 p.m. The buffet dinner menu at 4 p.m. will offer slow-roasted prime rib, chicken breast parmesan, baked salmon with maple glaze, skinless baked potatoes, long grain & wild rice, buttered shoepeg corn, pasta salad, fresh fruit medley, tossed salad, dinner rolls, and a dessert choice of fruits of the forest pie or brownie a la mode.

The UDC will honor the following recipients:

Distinguished Service Award – George J. Fluhr of Shohola Township, PA, for 30 years of service to the Upper Delaware Council organization from 1988-2018 and his numerous river valley historic contributions.

Advocacy Award – U.S. Congressman John Faso (NY-19th District) for being a champion of federal funding and support for the Upper Delaware Council and the Delaware River Basin Restoration Program.

Robin M. Daniels Memorial Lifesaving Award – Citizens Cinthia A. Ibarra and Mary Belezaire of Mt. Vernon, NY; National Park Service Upper Delaware Scenic and Recreational River Park Rangers Kevin Reish and Sean McNeil; and American Legion Ambulance Service President Louis E. Pine; for their July 3, 2017 rescue of a father and son who nearly drowned while swimming at Minisink Ford, NY.

Community Service Award – Samuel N. Rowe, Jr., of Hancock, NY for his strong tenure as the Town of Hancock Supervisor from 2002-2018 and his advocacy work for the river through the Upper Delaware Tailwaters Coalition.

Community Service Award – Town of Tusten Supervisor Carol Ropke Wingert for her ongoing public service to the Town of Tusten, NY, her fundraising success, and weather emergency coordination.

Cultural Achievement Award – Carol Ann MacMaster of the Equinunk Historical Society, for her outstanding efforts as curator, office manager, membership chair, and genealogist at the Calder House Museum.

Volunteer Award – Dr. Shannon Thol of Honesdale, PA for donating over 400 hours of expertise to developing a Geographic Information Systems framework for the Upper Delaware corridor.

Special Recognition Award – Jessica Newbern of the National Park Service, for advancing the study and protection of the Upper Delaware Scenic and Recreational River’s natural resources.

Special Recognition Award – Cindy Odell of Honesdale, PA, for her critical support staff role with the Upper Delaware Council from August 29, 2011 through February 16, 2018.

Oaken Gavel Award – James A. Greier, representative of the Town of Fremont, NY, for his leadership and service as Upper Delaware Council chairperson in 2017.

All are welcome to attend, with advance payment requested by April 13. Click the button below for a downloadable reservation form, or contact the UDC at P.O. Box 192, 211 Bridge St., Narrowsburg, NY 12764; phone (845) 252-3022;

Download reservation form >>


Search Posts