Latest News

UDC Announces April 24 Banquet Honorees

2016 Awards Invitation

NARROWSBURG – The Upper Delaware Council, Inc. (UDC) will honor those who have enhanced the quality of life or protected the resources of the Upper Delaware River Valley at its 28th Annual Awards Ceremony on Sunday, April 24.

Reservations at $28 per person are due by April 15 for the banquet that will take place at Wolff’s 1910 Banquet Hall located at the Tennanah Lake Golf and Tennis Club, 178 County Route 96, Roscoe (Town of Fremont/Town of Rockland border).

A reception with appetizers and a cash bar begins at 3 p.m. The buffet dinner menu at 4 p.m. will offer carved prime rib, chicken francaise, roasted garlic mashed potatoes, penne a la vodka, steamed vegetables, garden salad, rolls, and dessert.

Kristina Heister, superintendent of the National Park Service Upper Delaware Scenic and Recreational River, will deliver the keynote address at 5 p.m. prior to the presentation of awards.

The UDC will honor the following recipients:

Distinguished Service Award – John McKay of Lackawaxen, PA, for decades of dedicated service to the Upper Delaware Council, Inc. and to the Lackawaxen Township community.

Robin M. Daniels Memorial Lifesaving Award – Salvatore Lombardo of Tobyhanna, PA, and Joshua Turner of Mountaintop, PA for the July 20, 2015 rescue of a drowning boater in cardiac arrest at Butler’s Rift on the Upper Delaware River.

Outstanding Community Achievement Award – Shohola Township Planning Commission (Peter Wulfhorst, Aaron Robinson, Gary Hoeper, Peter Kestler, Roger Saumure, Secretary Diana Blume, and Solicitor Jason Ohlinger) for their zoning ordinance re-writes and new code development over five years of citizen-led volunteer meetings.

Community Service Award – Sue Currier of Hawley, PA for nurturing the growth of the Delaware Highlands Conservancy as its first executive director, soon to retire.

Cultural Achievement Award (organization) – Sunshine Hall Free Library of Eldred, NY, for celebrating its 100th anniversary in 2016 as a resource for river valley communities.

Cultural Achievement Award (individual) – Nellie Burnham of Roscoe, NY, as the last surviving founder of the Woodland Weavers and Spinners Guild, a retired teacher, 4-H leader, and continued mentor at the age of 86.

Recreation Achievement Award – Glenn Pontier of Barryville, NY for playing an integral role in the beautification initiatives of river towns during his leadership of the Sullivan Renaissance program, 2000-2015.

Volunteer Award – Shaun Sensiba of Long Eddy, NY, for his contributions to the Basket Historical Society of the Upper Delaware Valley and numerous other organizations.

Special Recognition Award – Iris Helfeld of Narrowsburg, NY for her role as a passionate citizen activist and community organizer in the Town of Tusten.

Special Recognition Award – Quiet Light Films of Lake Ariel, PA, for capturing the essence of the Upper Delaware Scenic and Recreational River in a Virtual Tour format.

Oaken Gavel Award – Alan F. Henry, representative of Berlin Township, PA, for his leadership and service as Upper Delaware Council chairperson in 2015.

All are welcome to attend, with advance payment requested by April 15. A downloadable reservation form is available at or contact the UDC at P.O. Box 192, 211 Bridge St., Narrowsburg, NY 12764; phone (845) 252-3022; e-mail


Search Posts