Latest News

group portrait of honorees

UDC 2012 Honors

The Upper Delaware Council held its 24th Annual Awards Ceremony on Earth Day, April 22, at The Carriage House in Barryville. Ten awards were presented to those who have protected the resources and enhanced the quality of life of the Upper Delaware Scenic and Recreational River Valley.

On hand were, standing from the left, UDC 2012 Chairperson Nadia Rajsz, Town of Lumberland representative; National Canoe Safety Patrol volunteer Peter Van Slyke of Deposit, NY, Robin M. Daniels Memorial Lifesaving Award; Philip D. Chase of Port Jervis, NY, Community Service Award; Chris White, representing Congressman Maurice D. Hinchey (NY-22), Distinguished Service Award; Dave Jones, representing Kittatinny Canoes, Recreation Achievement Award; Will Price of the Pinchot Institute for Conservation, representing the Common Waters Fund, Partnership Award; and 2011 UDC Chairman Larry H. Richardson, Town of Cochecton, NY, Oaken Gavel Award.

Seated from the left: Carol Coney, Town of Tusten Zoning Re-write Committee chairperson; Anne Willard, The River Reporter, Special Recognition Award; keynote speaker Congresswoman Nan Hayworth (NY-19); Supervisor Carol Wingert, representing the Town of Tusten, Outstanding Community Achievement Award; and Ruth Jones of Kittatinny Canoes. Absent from the photo were Grace Johansen, president of the Tusten Historical Society, Cultural Achievement Award; and William E. Douglass, 1989-2011 retired UDC executive director, Special Recognition Award.


Search Posts