Latest News

group portrait

UDC 2011 Honorees

The Upper Delaware Council held its 23rd Annual Awards Ceremony on April 17 at Central House Resort in Beach Lake, PA. Representative Sandra J. Major delivered the keynote address and 10 awards were presented.

Honorees included, seated from the left, James Daley, NYS Department of Environmental Conservation (DEC), and Mark Hartle, PA Fish and Boat Commission, recipients of the Partnership Award for their co-authorship of “Recommended Improvements to the Flexible Flow Management Program for Coldwater Ecosystem Protection in the Delaware River Tailwaters” White Paper; Peter E. Nye, Distinguished Service Award for his bald eagle restoration and protection efforts in New York State from 1976-2010; Kathleen Michell, Special Recognition Award for numerous contributions since 1985 to Narrowsburg and the greater river valley communities; Dorothy Moon, Special Recognition Award for coordinating the major exhibit upgrade at the National Park Service Upper Delaware Scenic and Recreational River’s Zane Grey Museum in Lackawaxen, PA; Harold G. Roeder, Jr., Oaken Gavel Award for chairing the UDC in 2010 as the Town of Delaware representative; Ann Steimle and Don Hunt, Jr. of the Lumberland Volunteer Fire Department, Lifesaving Award for a July 31, 2010 night-time river and rock face rescue at the Hawk’s Nest in the Town of Deerpark.

Standing from the left: Dan Plummer, accepting for Friends of the Upper Delaware River, Community Service Award for advocacy work to protect the Upper Delaware River fishery and stream restoration support in the Town of Hancock; 2011 UDC Vice-Chairperson and Town of Lumberland Supervisor Nadia Rajsz, who presented the awards; Frank V. Schwarz, accepting for the Town of Lumberland Cultural Series, Cultural Achievement Award for celebrating 25 years in 2010 of offering diverse cultural programming for the public; John and Yoke Bauer DiGiorgio, Volunteer Award for founding the 10th Annual Narrowsburg EagleFest and their efforts to raise public awareness of wildlife conservation; Paul Weamer, Recreation Achievement Award for his book, “Fly Fishing Guide to the Upper Delaware River”; and Chief William Koferl, Westfall Township Volunteer Fire Department, Lifesaving Award recipient, also shared by the Port Jervis Fire Dept.; Port Jervis Volunteer Ambulance Corp.; Sparrowbush Engine Co.; Huguenot Fire Co.; Mill Rift Fire Dept.; Matamoras Fire Dept.; and Hudson Valley Paramedic Service/Regional EMS.


Search Posts