Latest News

Four UDC Towns Complete Projects under State Grant

NARROWSBURG –The Upper Delaware Council (UDC) presented checks to the Towns of Fremont,
Tusten, Highland, and Delaware on January 15 representing their shares of a $25,000 grant that Senator John J. Bonacic secured for the UDC’s eight New York State member towns to improve community facilities or enhance river access for the public.

Projects accomplished were:

Fremont – $3,125 to facilitate renovation of the Town of Fremont Justice Court facilities in Fremont

Tusten -$3,125 to enhance the playground and recreation field located along 3rd and 4th Avenues
in Narrowsburg;

Highland – $3,125 to install electrical service at the cul-de-sac park located on River Road in Barryville for public recreational use; and

Delaware -$3,103.90 to make improvements at the newly-renovated Town of Delaware Justice Court in Hortonville including signage, furniture, and window treatments.

The UDC received its executed contract for Grant TM09050 from the NYS Department of
Environmental Conservation’s (DEC) Contract and Grant Development Unit on March 30, 2011. The contract expiration date was August 15, 2012.

Payment requests under this phase of funding were submitted on June 25, 2012 (Fremont) and August 3, 2012 (Tusten, Highland, and Delaware).


Previously-satisfied projects were:

Town of Deerpark, $3,090.50 to redesign and update the official website for the Town of Deerpark; Town of Lumberland, $3,090.50 to provide structural restoration of the support posts for the Town of Lumberland pavilion in Glen Spey; Town of Cochecton, $3,125 to install LED lighting at the new Cochecton Town Hall in Lake Huntington; and Town of Hancock, $3,125 to purchase accessories for the town-owned Hancock Golf Course.

From FY 2000 through this FY 2009-2010 grant’s completion, Senator Bonacic has secured $390,000 for Upper Delaware River Valley towns under the Aid to Localities program. He designated the UDC to serve as local administrator of those funding initiatives.

The UDC is celebrating its 25th anniversary in 2013 as a non-profit organization which represents the
State of New York, Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, eight NY towns and seven PA townships that border on the Congressionally-designated Upper Delaware Scenic and Recreational River. The Delaware River Basin Commission is a non-voting member.

The Council coordinates implementation of the Upper Delaware River Management Plan under a
Cooperative Agreement with its federal partner, the National Park Service. Please visit or call (845) 252-3022 for more information.


Search Posts